Salt Lake CountyFind It
Health banner image

Health Department

Food Protection

Food Handler Card Information

A food handler card is required before any person may engage in the manufacture, preparation, serving or handling of food or drink in or around a food establishment in Salt Lake County.

  • Food Handler Cards are valid for 3 years.

Replacement Cards

To get a replacement food handler card, call the Bureau of Food Protection at (385) 468-3845.

Class Requirements

  • Arrive 15 minutes early to register.
  • Bring Your ID. Picture ID is required to register.
  • Cost is $30. Please Bring Cash.

Most locations do not accept checks or credit cards.

  • Classes will start on time. Late arrivals will not be admitted.
  • Children are not allowed. No exceptions!

Standard Food Handler Card Schedule

Printable Schedule (PDF 46 KB)

Classes are generally not held on holidays.  Please contact the individual training locations for their holiday schedules.


ENGLISH CLASSES

(scroll down for Spanish classes)

Mondays

Granite Peaks Learning Center
501 East 3900 South  
3:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m.
Granite Peaks Community Education at 385-646-5439.

Tuesdays

West High School
241 North 300 West
Cafeteria at north end of school
6:00 p.m. only
West Community School at
801-578-8518.

Entrada High School
825 East 9085 South - Building 1
Sandy, Utah
3:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m.
801-826-6675.

Wednesdays

Taylorsville High School
5225 South Redwood Road - Cafeteria
3:30 p.m. or 6:00 p.m.
Granite Peaks Community Ed at 385-646-5439.


SPANISH CLASSES

Every Tuesday at 6:00 PM
West High School Cafeteria
241 North 300 West
801-578-8518

1st, 2nd & 3rd Wednesday at 5:00 PM
Entrada High School
825 East 9085 South - Building 1
801-826-6675

1st & 3rd Monday at 6:00 PM
Granite Peaks Learning Center
501 East 3900 South
385-646-5439

Individuals requiring assistance under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) should contact the individual schools five (5) working days prior to attending the class to request reasonable accommodations.

List of other approved food handler training providers in Utah

Prospective food handler training providers must apply for approval with the Utah Department of Health.  More information is provided on health.utah.gov